Read All About It! 24 Greenwich HS Students Are Named Book Award Winners

The awards will be presented Thursday at Greenwich High School.

Patch file photo.
Patch file photo.

The Greenwich High School Media Department has announced that 24 students have been selected to receive Junior Book Awards in a ceremony Thursday afternoon.

The awards will be presented Thursday, May 22 in the GHS Media Center at 2:30 p.m., followed by a reception.

The Book Awards program was established by the GHS Media Department in 1968 to honor GHS juniors who are not only scholars and leaders, but also have a great love of reading. Plaques on Media Center walls list past years' recipients and the colleges, universities, and organizations that sponsor the awards.  Each organization has additional specific criteria for selection of deserving students.

Students are selected by the high school's English, Social Studies, Business and Guidance departments. The awards presentations will be made by alumna and alumnus from the colleges and universities or by GHS faculty members.

Greenwich residents who will make presentations at this year’s ceremony on behalf of their almae matres include Anne Drake (Brown University), Sue Baker (Denison University), Diane Fox (University of Chicago), Louisa Greene (Mount Holyoke College), Thomas Hartch, Esq. (Yale University), Greg Islan (Gettysburg College), Richard Kelly (Harvard College), Allen Jackson (Princeton University), and Sandy Waters (Oberlin College).

The award recipients are:

  • Brown University: Rachel Pennella.
  • College of Mt. Saint Vincent: Patrick Feuerman.
  • College of the Holy Cross: Sarah Cicchetti.
  • Columbia University: Alexander Baietto.
  • Dartmouth College: Jamie Kockenmeister.
  • Denison University: Katie Lawrie.
  • Gettysburg College: Hansini Bhasker.
  • Greenwich Historical Society: Natalie Wallington.
  • Harvard College: Emma Goodman.
  • Middlebury College: Iain Edmundson.
  • Mount Holyoke College: Christine Kuesel.
  • Oberlin College: Catrina Hacker.
  • Princeton University:Peter Russell.
  • St. Lawrence University: Julia Sage Bunte-Mein.
  • Smith College: Pascale Carrel.
  • Trinity College:Christopher Fenaroli.
  • University of Chicago: Spencer Pevsner.
  • University of Michigan: Phillip Tibberts.
  • Vassar College: Uma Ramesh.
  • Wellesley College: Talia Waxman.
  • Wesleyan University: Charles Novek.
  • Wheelock College: Maggie Sperduti-Matesevac.
  • Williams College: Katie Williams.
  • Yale University: Olivia Scharfman. 








More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »